Recording in Nashville TN 2014

It’s always fun recording in Nashville TN – the magic happens when you hire the right musicians. When I do that I find the song produces itself. So the song usually decides what instruments would be best – this time around four of the songs ended up with banjo and four songs with pedal steel.

I’m in the process of putting together a CD – my biggest challenge is always choosing the songs and then producing my vocals. It’s best when I hire a producer to help with the vocals but I didn’t this time around. Some of the songs are just one take vocals. I was thinking if you came to hear me sing live this is what you would hear. And like every performance I strive to sing it better than the last. So when I hear my singing on my songs I feel the same. I could spend forever in the studio but one needs the time and money.

Another thing I did differently was hiring Vicky Hampton to sing back ground vocals on a gospel tune that I wrote. She did exactly what I was thinking and then some. Usually I do all the bg’s but it was really awesome to add a different flavor to the mix. She currently sings back up for Garth Brooks and in past for Wynonna Judd.

About Joyce Grennan

Singer/songwriter/composer/publisher/producer/ music - voice teacher/demo production
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment